BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

BPM

01-28-2012, 07:29 PM   #1
Mr Friese
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2011 M3

Is it Frowned Upon to Repaint?

Hey guys, I have some very slight road rash on my rockers and rear bumper and was thinking about just getting them resprayed after the winter instead of attempting any kind of repair. I'm kind of new to getting parts on my car repainted, but is it ok to have these pieces done / is this something that is commonly done? I've heard that repainting won't affect resale as long as it's a plastic panel, but I wasn't sure. Also, I would want to get these areas covered with clear bra as not to have this happen again. How long would I have to wait after the repaint to have this done?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2012, 07:36 PM   #2
Krozi
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 E92 ///M3 Alpine White

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Friese View Post
Hey guys, I have some very slight road rash on my rockers and rear bumper and was thinking about just getting them resprayed after the winter instead of attempting any kind of repair. I'm kind of new to getting parts on my car repainted, but is it ok to have these pieces done / is this something that is commonly done? I've heard that repainting won't affect resale as long as it's a plastic panel, but I wasn't sure. Also, I would want to get these areas covered with clear bra as not to have this happen again. How long would I have to wait after the repaint to have this done?

Thanks!
To be honest, spraying the side skirts isn't that big of a deal in my opinion.

Spraying other parts like trunk, doors, etc...that's what I would really care about. Spraying the sideskirts however isn't a big deal in my eyes, just make sure they painter can properly match the paint.

2008 E92 ///M3 Alpine White//Fox Red//6MT//
Florida Bimmer - Join us on FaceBook!
Appreciate 0