BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

EXXEL Distributions

12-03-2017, 06:07 AM   #1
mrspecter
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 11 E92 M3

Buying privately (tips to avoid scams)?

I'm getting ready to purchase an M3 from a private seller from out of state and if anyone has any tips I'd greatly appreciate it. This is my first time buying a car from a private seller.

Here's my situation, I live in NY and this seller lives in Alabama and I'm looking to purchase his M3 and then have it shipped here to NY. I'm not going to be able to fly down there and drive it back so everything has to be completed without meeting face to face.

The seller has already filled out a bill of sale and sent it to me.

I have some questions though

1) What's the best payment method? (I've considered wire transfer, bank check or an escrow service)

2) At what point in the transaction should I pay him?

3) How do I ensure that the seller signs over the title to me without screwing me over?

4) Should I tell him to photocopy the title and email it to me?

5) Should I tell him to mail me the title or have it shipped with the car to NY?

6) If I pay him and he does not sign over the title, then what should I do?
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2017, 08:05 AM   #2
spazzyfry123
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: Here and There

Garage List
First thing... Have you gotten a PPI?

1) What's the best payment method? (I've considered wire transfer, bank check or an escrow service)

Third party escrow service would be my choice.

See above.

3) How do I ensure that the seller signs over the title to me without screwing me over?

See above.

Could be beneficial, but escrow service should handle that.

5) Should I tell him to mail me the title or have it shipped with the car to NY?

Escrow service.

6) If I pay him and he does not sign over the title, then what should I do?