BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW M2 Forum > BMW M2 CS Model > BMW Adventures: ///M Advanced School, Mid-Ohio, and NCM

09-19-2021, 09:22 PM   #1
sdhotwn
Mmmm... Bavarian
Rep
Drives: M2 CS, X5 45e, i3, Cayman S

BMW Adventures: ///M Advanced School, Mid-Ohio, and NCM

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
It's been a pretty awesome week of BMW-ness and a number of things worth sharing.

Part 1: 2 Day M Advanced School - Thermal

Over the years I've found that schools and instructor time is really worth it no matter how comfortable you are getting on track and how fast you are or aren't in your run groups. The biggest thing is that the second set of perspectives tend to uncover things in your driving and give you elements to focus on that continue to grow you as a driver. I've been doing HDPE's, karting, autocross, etc for 18+ years at this point. I'm not talented, so I need all the help I can get as well. I've done 3 skip barber schools, Solo schools, Pirelli experiences, and a few others tossed in over the years as well. This was my first BMW school, and I was cleared to go to the Advanced school based on my previous experience.

Few thoughts. Overall - highly recommend it. Really well done and you come away with a crazy amount of track time and skills refinement. The blend of skidpad and "supercross" time combined with the copious high speed track time was great. The classroom time at the start was too basic for my tastes, but was less than 2 hours total, and that was the only classroom time of the whole 2 days.