E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > N54 cracked cylinder liner

05-21-2016, 07:31 PM   #1
Bmwfixerguy
Banned
Rep
Drives: 07 335i 6sp

N54 cracked cylinder liner

So I will start by saying I have been turning wrenches for BMW for over 12 years... Well before this engine was even out in the US market... I have NEVER SEEN A CRACKED CYL LINER EVER!

-The story- buddy who works next to me has a 335xi, exhaust, dps, jb4, meth and dci.
He's been complaining of a detonation type noise.. We log and log and all looks well with no signs of detonation.. The noise comes and goes.. Fast forward a week or two and were getting closer and closer to the noise, 30 techs in the shop and no one has ever heard this noise.
Finally one day we are leaving work and he screams for me it's loud it's loud! I jump into his engine bay and start reaching for it I can hear it really loud! Finally we find the noise. Back of the head gasket is blown out leaking compression out the back! Haha it was an exhaust leak esentially and that's what it sounded like..
Three days later plan is set.. Drop motor, trans and subframe and make it easy.. I didn't stay last night but they had it all dropped on the engine table in 50 minutes..
This am he starts yanking the head. Head off and great let's gasket her and back together and start by lunch time..
We notice wizzy wheel/high speed die grinder cookie marks all over the the heads mating surface... FUCKKKK THIS HEAD HAS BEEN OFF BEFORE! Why why was this head off.. N54 heads don't ever come off who took a wizzy wheel to this thing like a savage??
We look deeper.. As you can see in the pics we find some ugly ugly stuff...
Cracked liner in cylinder 3..